Featuring Women

Both of these collages feature women whose images I found in my collection of 1959 Newsweek magazines.

9-1-12, “A Girl’s Best Friend”, 6″x6″, mixed media on board

9-2-12, “Who Me?”, 6″x6″, mixed media on paper


I am really enjoying the long weekend. It is nice to be able to wake up gradually and sit down to making a daily collage. Yesterday I did get up early (3am) to go dove hunting with my family, something I haven’t done in over 15 years. It is always wonderful to spend one-on-one time with my parents. So far it has been a creative weekend, with most of my creativity focused on making teacher samples for school projects, something I enjoy doing. I am putting together creative folders (I am painting the covers) to hold different units that I taught following field trips to the Phoenix Art Museum. On September 12th, I am talking about these units at the Educator’s Night at the Museum. The units I am presenting are Nonobjective Art, Portrait Painting, and Trompe-L’oeil. I am nervous, but will have plenty of photos, lesson plans, and student examples to discuss and show to anyone who is interested! I will post how it goes!

Leave a Reply

